Welcome!

The inspiration for this blog came from my recent diagnosis of fibroid tumors in my uterus.  I have surgery scheduled for a hysterectomy the second week in February.  As I’ve been relatively healthy and have had no surgeries except for cesarean for my first baby, I’m a bit pensive about the entire thing.  So maybe writing and sharing my experience can help me vent, and perhaps help others out there.

One of things when you deal with fibroids is severe loss of vitality and energy.  It sucks everything out of you – not to mention the pain, and discomfort, and the impact your hormones play on the fibroids and how they tend to have a life of their own.  I’ve often in the past have had little “fluttering” and vibrations from my uterus – but nothing to get to upset about.  But recently they have increased in intensity and I sometimes think I can feel the fibroids move around.  I had a hysteroscopy last month which gave me a lot of relief because while they were doing the procedure they found and removed a uterine polyp – which is another name for a fibroid, but the kind that grows from inside the uterus.  These generally make you bleed quite heavily.  After this procedure I was feeling a lot better – but in place of my heavy bleeding and pain associated with that I ended up with some other weird feelings and pains that were intermittent and not tied to my menses.  The fluttering and vibrations are one of these and they have definitely increased in magnitude.   I’ve read elsewhere on the internet that other women have experienced this as well.

 I found a great website that has a lot of information for women who are going to have or who have had a hysterectomy.  Check it out if you get a chance:  http://www.hystersisters.com/

Leave a comment